SRR011: B£AMS – Unforthcoming Self
Posted by Oli Marlow on November 19, 2014

Photography by Jack Davison


B£AMS – Unforthcoming Self

Format: Cassette & digital
Out: 01/12/2014
Buy: via Bandcamp

Brixton resident, B£AMS follows up the first volume of his £300 STERLING beat tape series with Unforthcoming Self, a ten track collection of hazy beat sketches and longer form explorations in 44 that make up the eleventh release on Sonic Router Records. Featuring collaborations with Hello Skinny, Adam Oko and Broshuda, the EP also follows on from Patches, the Canterbury born producer’s 11 track debut which was released as a split 12″ on Kit Records earlier this year.

Employing a wide range of dynamic techniques across the unpredictable Unforthcoming Self, it proves very easy to catch a glimpse of B£AMS’ playful persona at work within his production. In flitting so decidedly from the sprawling drones and cluttered ambience of ‘Pimp Seer’ and ‘Always The Same’ to tough, streamlined drum workouts like ‘I Can’t,’ ‘Revolutions’ and ‘Brush Phenotype’ he proves himself adept at exploring numerous atmospheres; even transplanting Oko’s soothing soulful vocals and weaving them into the poignant swathes of digitized sound on ‘Garbadine.’


As premiered on The FADER.

Debuted on Boiler Room.

First seen on DUMMY.

Hosted exclusively on Hyponik.


Follow B£AMS:



1. I Can’t
2. Lies In ‘85
3. Revolutions [A B£AMS & Hello Skinny Production]
4. Do Away With Your Unforthcoming Self
5. Garbadine with Adam Oko
6. Pimp Seer
7. Always The Same
8. Sandoz
9. Over ft. Broshuda
10. Brush Phenotype


Artwork by Omid Kashan


B£AMS’ Unforthcoming Self will be released on cassette and digital on 1st December 2014.
Buy it here.